Using Network Drives
This is an overview of the network drives in use at Kenyon. When you are ready, follow the relevant link below to map drives.
One of the primary functions of Kenyon's network is to store your files. You likely already know how to save your files on your personal computer's hard drive or on a USB memory stick. A personal computer connected to the network treats files on network drives as if the files were stored on one of its local disk drives. This makes it very easy to save and move your files from one drive or directory to another, whether they are local or on the network. There are two important differences, however, in the way that files on a network drive are stored and accessed:
- The files are not actually stored on a drive directly attached to your computer. Instead they are connected to your computer remotely from another computer called a file server, which is able to store much more information than can otherwise be stored on your personal computer. Since all computers on the network are connected to the file server, it is possible to share files and programs among computers. However, there are quotas that govern the space available on network drives, so we ask you to take that into consideration when saving files.
- Each user only has access to certain storage areas on the network drives. Your access permissions are generally determined by your particular user category (student, faculty, or staff). For example, departmental folders (P:\ [dept]) are accessible only to the members of that department. Class (or course) folders (P:\class\dept... and P:\data\dept...) are accessible only to the faculty members and enrolled students. Personal folders (H:) are accessible only to the individual user.
Network drives are typically labeled with letters of the alphabet starting with G: (to prevent duplication of a personal computer's A:, B:, C:, D:, E:, or F: drive).
There are two important advantages to storing your files on one of the network drives instead of on your local hard drive:
- Network drives are backed up nightly. If you lose or accidentally delete a file, it can be restored as long as it existed intact on the network before the last nightly backup. To recover your file, call Helpline at (740) 427-5700 to place a file restore request.
- The network drives are available from any networked computer on campus. If your personal computer is unable to get online, you can still access your files on the network drives from another networked computer, such as a public lab computer.
Note: If you attempt to transfer a virus-infected file to a network drive (H: or P:), it will automatically be deleted by the antivirus software that is installed on all network drives. So remember to always keep a backup copy of whatever you transfer to the network. The system will not notify you that it has deleted the virus-infected file.
H: Drive—Personal Folders
Each individual user has a personal storage area on an H: drive folder, which resides on one of two file servers. Students' H: drives are on rhine.kenyon.edu; employees' H: drives are on tiber.kenyon.edu.
H: drives are secure storage areas to which an individual alone has access. Within your H: drive, you may create subfolders to organize your files.
The identification of a particular user's personal account looks like this to the user:
\\tiber.kenyon.edu\username$ if you are an employee
\\rhine.kenyon.edu\username$ if you are a student
G: Drive—Network Software on \\potomac.kenyon.edu\software\
This drive stores many programs, many of which are available only in public or departmental labs and are used by departments for their courses. As mentioned earlier, these applications are not stored locally on your personal computer's C: drive, but are instead served to your computer on demand from a fileserver.
Note: Many standard applications, such as Microsoft Office, have been installed locally on most College computers for better performance.
O: Drive—Shared Departmental Storage Areas on \\vistula.kenyon.edu
Each academic or administrative division has its own share of the O: drive within which individual departments have their own secure folders. This allows for a space in which files that need to be accessed by all in a department (but none outside it) can be kept. For example, the natural science departments are provided a share on Vistula (the O: drive) named NatSci. Departments such as Biology and Chemistry have their own subfolders within NatSci.
It is also possible to set up a folder that allows certain individuals to regularly share files (but not necessarily an entire department). This type of folder (called a workgroup folder) can be used to share files with students or with members of several departments involved in special projects. Call Helpline at (740) 427-5700 to request a workgroup folders.
P: Drive—Public Storage on \\potomac.kenyon.edu
The P: drive is available for public sharing of files. It is used for academic course groups who share files with each other. There are also academic class or course folders (i.e. P:\class\dept\coursename\ and P:\data\dept\coursename) that are available for use by faculty and course-enrolled students. The P: drive also contains student organization accounts, which are accessible to the officers of each student group.
P:\Temp—Public Temporary Storage
The P:\Temp\ folder is a public temporary storage space available to any Kenyon user for the purpose of temporarily sharing or exchanging files.
The P:\Temp folder is NOT a secure space! Anyone with a network account has full access to every file in the P:\Temp\ folder and all subfolders within it, with privileges to edit or delete any files at any time. Any user can create a subfolder under P:\Temp in which to temporarily store files to be exchanged. To maintain available disk space on P:\Temp\, files are deleted by the system one week after being moved there, so your files are always at risk.
Note: If you attempt to transfer a virus-infected file to a P: or H: network drive folder, it will be deleted by antivirus software that is set up on all network drives. The system will not notify you that it has deleted the virus-infected file. So remember to always keep a backup copy of whatever you transfer to P:\Temp\.