Move your H: drive to Google Drive

By June 2021, all Kenyon students and employees must move files they want to keep from their H: drives to their Kenyon Google Drive account. 

 

Why is Kenyon replacing network drives with Google Drive?

Kenyon is moving its network file storage to Google Drive to improve the security of our files and network infrastructure. Windows File Sharing, the technology that powers Kenyon’s network drives, is now considered to be a relatively insecure method of storing and sharing files. Because of this, it has become one of the primary targets for exploitation by attackers. The existence of similar security vulnerabilities drove our decision to shut down remote.kenyon.edu. 

With Google Drive, you can securely access your files, edit them, and collaborate with others wherever you are. You don't have to be on campus or connected to a VPN. You can even access your files from your mobile phone or tablet. 

 

How do I move my H: drive to Google Drive?

If you are on campus and have already mapped your H: drive on your computer (see instructions for Mac and Windows), there are only three steps to move your H: drive to Google Drive:

  1. In your browser (Chrome, Firefox, or Safari), go to drive.google.com.

  2. At the top-left of the Google Drive page, click New > Folder Upload

  3. Select your H drive, then...
    1. If you are an employee, select your H: drive (Windows) or Tiber/accountname$ (Mac), then click Upload.
    2. If you are a student, select your H: drive (Windows) or Rhine/accountname$ (Mac), then click Upload.

If you are an off-campus student, first log into a virtual computer on vcl.kenyon.edu, then follow the three steps above.

IMPORTANT: It can take some time for your files to transfer, so... your computer on while you upload files to Google Drive. You can use your computer during the upload as long as you do not stop the upload by closing Google Drive, shutting down your computer, or putting it to sleep.

After the upload completes, you will have a copy of your H: drive files in My Drive. Once you compare the contents to verify the upload completed successfully, you are welcome to delete the files in your H: drive so you do not accidentally edit them in the future. If you do not delete the contents of your H drive, they will be removed on July 1.

 

How long do I have to move my H: drive to Google Drive?

On June 15, 2021, your H: drive will be locked in read-only mode. When this happens, you can open files on your H: drive, but you cannot edit or modify them. 

On July 1, 2021, access to all H: drives will be removed. When this happens,  you will no longer be able to connect to your H: drive or the files therein. 

 

I’m used to using programs such as Microsoft Office to edit files. After I move my files to Google Drive, can I still use the programs I am familiar with to edit them?

Yes! When you copy your H: drive files to Google Drive, you are just changing the location where you store these files. The files will maintain their original format, and you can continue to use the programs you are already familiar with, such as Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and Adobe Acrobat. 

To open and edit files stored in Google Drive using their native programs, install Google Drive For Desktop. With Drive For Desktop, your files are securely streamed directly from the cloud to your Mac or PC. Because the files are saved directly in Google Drive, any changes you make are automatically updated for your collaborators as well. If you have used Google File Stream in the past, “Drive for Desktop” is simply Google’s new name for File Stream.

To Install Google Drive for Desktop on your computer, please follow this link.

https://support.google.com/a/users/answer/9965580?hl=en

 

Can I get help moving my H: drive?

Each person must transfer their own H: drive files to their personal Google Drive account. 

If you have any questions about your H: drive, contact Helpline at 740-427-5700 or helpline@kenyon.edu.